top of page

Bloodlines

My mother passed away when I was very young, yet I have always had the sensation of walking a well-trodden path, mabe not exactly walking behind my ancestors footsteps, but definitely walking beside them.

Then I reached a certain age, and it dawned on me that I was now older than my mother...

I must admit I felt strangely unrooted for some reason. This, this was unchartered territory...I would now be living through times, through changes, my mother had never experienced. No longer could I ask myself, what would my mother do? Whether I wanted to or not, I was the grown-up here, the Elder, even!!!

Ha!! Life has a way of putting you back in your place...

We visited my 96 year old paternal grandmother a little while ago. Looking at this amazing older woman, who has lived through both a civil and a world war, and raised 12 children in the midst of it to top it off, interacting with my spirited 15 year old daughter, I realised the link is still there, unbroken.

We are the sum of those who came before us, and we are much more.

Both the Acorn and the Oak.

bottom of page